L/R Shinya Tasaki, President Association Sommelier International presenting Andrew O’ Gorman, Irish Guild of Sommeliers  with the Emozioni International Prize as winning Journalist,Nichi Stefi, Jury Member for Emozioni Prize, Stanislas de Roccofort de la Vinniere, Moet & Chandon Champagne, Giuseppe Vaccarini, President Association Sommelier Professional Italy.EMOZIONI ANDREW O GORMANEnrico Muscetra





Sculpture, Champagne and Diploma presented to Andrew O’ Gorman at Villa Nobel, Sanremo, Italy, September,2013


In the evening of the 27th September,2013 at Villa Nobel ,the final resting place of Alfred Nobel, who gave his name to the famous Nobel awards and thanks to the collaboration with the Province of Imperia, hosted “Emotions”, a competition created by ASPI, the Italian Sommelier Association and ASI ,the International Sommelier Association with Moët   &   Chandon Champagne, dedicated to the best journalistic or literary works that have as their theme the profession of sommelier.

The following were nominated for the journalist award: Nenan Basaric from Serbia, Philippe Faure-Brace from France and Andrew O’ Gorman from Ireland. Andrew O’ Gorman was announced as the winner.

The judges for this award were as follows:Giuseppe Vaccarini, President of the Italian Sommelier Association, Shinya Tasaki, President of the International Sommelier Association, Nichi Stefi, Producer  National Radio-Television,Italy,Marco Bolasco, Chief Editor and CEO of Slow Food Editore and Michele Lenochi, Professor/Headmaster of the Faculty of Science Cattolica University.The jury evaluated the works of the candidates received, nominated the three finalists and also selected the final winner.

It was a great honour for me personally, the Irish Guild of Sommeliers and Ireland to receive such an award. I was presented with an original bronze statue from the famous Maestro Enrico Muscetra, a Diploma and a Jeroboam of Moét & Chandon Champagne.

Sincere thanks to Oliver Murtagh, President, Irish Guild of Sommeliers for submitting my name for this prestigious award.